Maybe he’s hungry…

“Ugh…he’s awake.  Again.”  This seems to be my complaint, all night, every night.  Anyone who knows me knows that I follow a diet outlined in Nourishing Traditions and do so for my family also.  Kyan is my youngest boy and at 6 months puts most 1 year olds to shame with his size.  As with my first, Jordan, I am breastfeeding exclusively.  We’ve tried the foods recomended, lazily.  Since he doesn’t seem to have much interests, I’ve been nursing away.

That’s gonna change.  I think he’s just too hungry to sleep all night.

Once he wakes up from his nap, he’ll have a soft boiled egg yolk with some raw grated liver (frozen for at least 14 days).  “WHAT?” you ask.  “Liver?  Egg?”  And my calm answer to to you is “yes, absolutely. Egg.”  For you see, my oldest is now 3 and 1/2 years old and we didn’t start out this way.  His health did nothing but suffer with the standard diet, immunizations, and medications that are just commonplace.  Ear infections were a regular occurance, fevers following, and in general, a cranky baby and worried mama.  I did the cheerios, rice cereal, antibiotics, and motrin just like every mom out there.  Nothing changed.  Or if it did, he just was more unwell.  We changed our families diet gradually starting when he was a year old.  It helped.  A lot.  But not enough.  So we decided to not do antibiotics.  It was hard, thinking that we weren’t doing the right thing.  Even harder once his eardrum ruptured.  But then…no more ear infections.  That was September 2011.  Praise the Lord no permanent damage or hearing loss.  Along with the Gonstad chiropractic, a Weston A. Price Foundation diet, and no medications, our little boy is a picture of health.

So, yes.  I am feeding my baby some unconventional foods.  And will continue to do so.

A wonderful resource I would point all my friends of childbearing age to is Mommypotamus.  Her book is a wealth of information.  (http://www.mommypotamus.com/lp/order-nourished-baby-book/).  And this is very helpful also.  (http://cookingforwell-being.com/Baby-Chart.html).  Nourishing Traditions author along with some others will be releasing a book in March called “The Nourishing Traditions Book of Baby and Child Care” which I’m extremely excited about.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions as to get started.  I’m more than willing to help, and sometimes a live person is just what you need in this food journey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

